If you have ever blocked someone on Instagram, there may come a time when you change your mind and want to unblock them.
Thankfully, it is actually a very easy process!
In this blog post, we will walk you through the steps of how to unblock someone on Instagram.
So if you change your mind about blocking someone, or if you accidentally blocked someone, don’t worry, we have you covered!
We will also talk about how you can unblock someone but still limit their interaction, if you’re looking for a friendlier alternative.
In This Post
- Method 1: Search The Username Of The Person You Want To Unblock
- Method 2: Find The Person You Want To Unblock In Your Block List
- Friendlier Alternatives to Blocking
Method 1: Search The Username Of The Person You Want To Unblock
If you know the username of the person you want to unblock, you can follow these steps:
- Go to search tab and search for them in the search bar.
- Once you find their profile, tap on it.
- If you block someone, you’ll see Unblock button instead of Follow or Following. Tap the Unblock button.
- A pop up will appear to confirm if you want to unblock the person or not. Tap on Unblock button again.
That’s it! You’ve successfully unblocked someone on Instagram using the first method.
Method 2: Find The Person You Want To Unblock In Your Block List
If you can’t remember the username of the person you want to unblock, you can still find them using your block list.
- Go to your profile and tap on three lines icon in the top right corner.
- Go to Settings and tap on Privacy.
- Scroll down and tap on Blocked accounts under Connections.
- A list of people you’ve blocked will appear. Find the person you want to unblock and tap on Unblock next to their name.
- Again, a pop up will appear asking if you’re sure you want to unblock the person. Tap on Unblock button one last time.
And that’s it! You have now successfully unblocked someone on Instagram using the second method.
After you unblock someone, you and they will be able to see each other’s profile, posts, and stories back just like before.
Friendlier Alternatives to Blocking
If you want to unblock someone but still want to limit their interaction, you can always mute them and/or restrict their account instead.
What it means to mute someone
Muting someone means that you will no longer see their posts and stories in your feed without blocking or unfollowing them, but they will still be able to see and interact with your posts and stories.
Although you won’t see their posts and stories on your feed, you can still always see them by going to their profile.
Ready to mute someone? Read this tutorial.
What it means to restrict someone
Restricting someone’s account takes it a step further. They can still be able to see and comment on your posts, but their comments will be hidden from yourself and everyone until you approve it. They won’t know that their comments are hidden.
You won’t receive any notification when they leave a comment on your posts or send you DMs. They also won’t be able to see when you’re online.
And the best part, you can combine the two features, and the person you restrict or mute will not have any idea that you’ve restricted and muted them.
How to unblock someone on Instagram who has blocked me?
If the person you want to unblock has also blocked you, then you will need to wait until they unblock you first. Once they have unblocked you, then you can follow the steps above to unblock them as well.
Alternatively, you can create a new account and follow the person who has blocked your first account and hope they won’t notice you.
Can we block someone again after I unblocked them?
Yes, you can! If you unblock someone and then decide that you want to block them again, you can definitely do so. Just follow the steps above but instead of tapping on the Unblock button, tap on Block button this time.
Can I mute and restrict someone at the same time?
Yes, you can! Just go to that person’s profile and tap on Following button. Tap on Mute, toggle on Post and Stories, then go back and tap on Restrict, then tap on Restrict account button.